The Research Team

The interdisciplinary VA-PEPR project team includes researchers with expertise in human-centred design, human-computer interaction, home automation, digital services, ambient assisted living, computer science, behavioural economics, socio-informatics, Open IoT and health.
Team_Aurelio
Aurelio Todisco
Project Contact Person

Aurelio Todisco recently completed his Master in Design at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU-Hochschule Luzern). He is interested in human-centered and participatory design processes. In the VA-PEPR research project, he is the contact person for study participants.

Team_Aysun_2
Aysun Aytaç
Product Design

Aysun Aytaç, PhD, design researcher at the Competence Centre Design and Management at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). She combines theories and approaches from material culture, visual culture, visual ethnography, everyday life, culture, everyday life creativity and design thinking to explore interactions between people and artefacts.

Team_Beat
Beat Tödtli
Data Science and Data Analysis

Beat Tödtli, PhD, data scientist, researcher and lecturer at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST- Ostschweizer Fachhochschule). He develops and teaches machine learning courses and has a background in industrial algorithm development for fraud detection.

Team_Bettina_Minder
Bettina Minder
Innovation Processes

Bettina Minder, PhD, deputy head of the Competence Centre Design and Management at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). She focuses on participatory and collaborative research approaches that translates research insights into proposals and design briefs for actionable design. She contributes with her expertise in developing and evaluating visual material and design films in laboratory and real-world situations.

Team_Edith_Maier_2
Edith Maier
Social Anthropology and Applied Linguistics

Edith Maier, PhD, professor at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule) and has a background in applied linguistics, social anthropology and information science. More recently, her research focuses on cultural aspects of human-computer interaction and behavioural change support.

Team_Inesa
Inesa Halilovic
Information Systems

Inesa Halilovic is a research assistant and Master student in Information systems at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule). She works on various projects in application development.

Team_Jens_Meissner_2
Jens O. Meissner
Management and Organizational Studies

Jens O. Meissner, PhD, professor of organizational design and head of the interdisciplinary future laboratory CreaLab at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). His research focuses on questions around organizational resilience in the digital age.

Team_JonRogers
Jon Rogers
Human Computer Interaction

Jon Rogers, professor of design at Northumbria University with twenty five years of experience working at the interface between design and emerging technologies. Following a recent three year fellowship based in Mozilla Berlin, he is co-directing OpenDoTT, an EU funded doctoral training programme with Mozilla in trusted IoT. He is exploring new narratives for the design of voice assistants in VA-PEPR project.

Team_Matthias_Baldauf_2
Matthias Baldauf
Information systems

Matthias Baldauf, PhD, professor of information systems at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule). His research centers on pervasive computing and human-computer interaction with a recent focus on voice-based user interfaces.

Team_Melanie_Linher_2
Melanie Rickenmann
Mathematics

Melanie Rickenmann is a research assistant at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule). She works in various projects in data science and in application development.

Team_Michael_Doerk_2
Michael Doerk
Psychology

Michael Doerk, PhD, professor at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern), a psychologist, expert in health promotion, social computing, risk and quality management and innovation management. He developed the award-winning HSLU business application relax-concentrate-create that captures VA-activities related to resource management that are central to the analytical part of this study. 

Team_Michelle_Murri_2
Michelle Murri
Law

Michelle Murri is a research associate in the School of Business at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). She received her Master’s degree in law and is particularly interested in data protection law. She supports the project management in VA-PEPR research project.

Team_Michelle_Thorne_2
Michelle Thorne
Open Data

Michelle Thorne is a senior program officer at the Mozilla Foundation. She leads a PhD program on Open Design of Trust Things (OpenDoTT) with Northumbria University and several art and research initiatives as an Environmental Champion in Mozilla’s Sustainability Program. She is the founder of Ding magazine, Mozilla’s Open Internet of Things Studio, the Mozilla Festival and a web literacy program called Maker Party.

Team_Mikey
Mike Shorter
Creative Technologist

Dr. Mike Shorter is a Research Fellow at Northumbria University. In his time, he’s worked as a Researcher, Creative Technologist, Product Designer, Craftsperson and Innovation Strategist. Across all these roles Mike consistently explores new technology with reflective and playful processes in order to make meaningful objects and experiences.

Team_Patricia_Wolf_2
Patricia Wolf
Innovation Management

Patricia Wolf, PhD, professor of innovation management and future research at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). She also teaches at ETH Zurich since 2012 and she is a professor of integrative innovation management at the University of Southern Denmark since 2018. Her research focuses on the link between innovation, emergent technologies and social change.

Team_Sabine_Junginger_2
Sabine Junginger
Design Research

Sabine Junginger, PhD, professor in the Lucerne School of Art and Design and head of the Competence Centre Design and Management at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). She contributes her expertise on human-centred design and studies its contribution to social change and economic innovation in the context of digital transformation. For VA-PEPR, she looks at voice assistants with an eye to policy design and the design of future public services.

Team_Tom_Ulmer
Tom Ulmer
Data Analysis and IT Architecture

Tom Ulmer is a lecturer at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule) and has a background in media design, computer sciences and human computer interaction. His main research interests include digital health, active assisted living as well as smart living.

Team_Ulrich_Reimer
Ulrich Reimer
Computer Science

Ulrich Reimer, PhD, professor at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule) and computer scientist with a background in AI, semantic technologies and knowledge management. His current research focuses on behavioural change support systems for digital health, with an emphasis on sensor data mining and self-learning to adapt to individual users.

Team_Ute_Klotz
Ute Klotz
Informatics

Ute Klotz, PhD, co-leader of the focus group ‘Technologies for Tomorrow’s Digital Working World’ in the interdisciplinary thematic cluster ‘Digital Transformation of the Working World’ at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). She deals with future studies and the interfaces between humans, work and technology. She is particularly interested in methods that make the future more tangible and predictable.

Team_Uwe
Uwe Riss
Information Systems

Uwe Riss, Ph.D., lecturer and senior researcher at the Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule), has conducted research in areas such as business information systems, natural sciences, and philosophy. Currently, his main interest is in the various aspects of digitalization.

Team_Viviven_Luong_2
Vivien Luong
Research Coordination

Vivien Luong is a research coordinator in the School of Art and Design at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts  (HSLU – Hochschule Luzern). In VA-PEPR research project, she is responsible for coordinating the reporting to SNF and is responsible for the financial controlling and the financial reporting.

Forschungsteam

Das interdisziplinäre VA-PEPR-Projektteam umfasst Forscher mit Expertise in Human-Centred Design, Human-Computer-Interaktion, Home-Automatisierung, digitale Dienste, Informatik, Verhaltensökonomie, Sozioinformatik, Open IoT und Gesundheit.
Team_Aurelio
Aurelio Todisco
Kontaktperson Studie

Aurelio Todisco schloss kürzlich seinen Master in Design an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern ab. Er interessiert sich für menschenzentrierte und partizipative Designprozesse. Im VA-PEPR Forschungsprojekt ist er die Kontaktperson für Studienteilnehmer und -teilnehmerinnen.

Team_Aysun_2
Aysun Aytaç
Produktdesign

Dr. Aysun Aytaç ist Design-Forscherin am Competence Centre Design and Management an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern. Sie verbindet Theorien und Ansätze aus der materiellen und visuellen Kultur, visuellen Ethnografie, everyday life, alltäglicher Kreativität und Design Thinking um Interaktionen zwischen Menschen und Artefakten zu erforschen.

Team_Beat
Beat Tödtli
Data Science

Dr. Beat Tödtli ist Data Scientist und Dozent an der OST- Ostschweizer Fachhochschule. Er forscht und unterrichtet auf dem Gebiet des maschinellen Lernens. In der Industrie hat er Verfahren für die automatisierte Banknotenverarbeitung entwickelt.

Team_Bettina_Minder
Bettina Minder
Innovationsprozesse

Dr. Bettina Minder ist stellvertretende Leiterin des Competence Centre Design und Management an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern. Partizipatorische und kollaborative Forschungsansätze kennzeichnen ihr Vorgehen in der Forschung, welche darauf abzielt Vorlagen für realisierbare Produkte und Prozesse zu generieren. Sie trägt insbesondere durch die Konzeption und Begleitung der spekulativen VA-PEPR Design Filme zum Projekt bei.  

Team_Edith_Maier_2
Edith Maier
Sozialanthropologie

Prof. Dr. Edith Maier ist Professorin an der OST- Ostschweizer Fachhochschule mit Hintergründen in Soziolinguistik, Sozialanthropologie und Informationswissenschaften. Sie forscht u.a. zu Human-Computer Interaction und der Unterstützung von Verhaltensänderungen

Team_Inesa
Inesa Halilovic
Wirtschaftsinformatik

Inesa Halilovic ist wissenschaftliche Assistentin und Masterstudentin in Wirtschaftsinformatik an der OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule. Sie arbeitet an diversen Projekten in der Applikationsentwicklung mit.

Team_Jens_Meissner_2
Jens O. Meissner
Management und Organisationsdesign

Prof. Dr. Jens O. Meissner ist Professor für Organisationsdesign und leitet das Interdisziplinäre Zukunftslabor CreaLab an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern. Er forscht zu Fragen der Organisationellen Resilienz im digitalen Zeitalter.

Team_JonRogers
Jon Rogers
Human Computer Interaction

Prof. Dr. Jon Rogers ist Professor für Design an der Northumbria University mit langjähriger Erfahrung an der Schnittstelle Design und neuen Technologien. Er leitete das OpenDoTT Programm bei Mozilla in Berlin. Gemeinsam mit der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern erforscht er neue Narrative für das Design von Sprachassistenten in unseren Wohnungen.

Team_Matthias_Baldauf_2
Matthias Baldauf
Wirtschaftsinformatik

Prof. Dr. Matthias Baldauf ist Professor für Wirtschaftsinformatik an der OST- Ostschweizer Fachhochschule. Seine Forschungsinteressen sind Pervasive Computing und Human-Computer Interaction mit aktuellem Fokus auf sprachbasierten Benutzerschnittstellen.

Team_Melanie_Linher_2
Melanie Rickenmann
Mathematik

Melanie Rickenmann ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der OST- Ostschweizer Fachhochschule. Sie arbeitet in diversen Projekten in Data Science und in der Applikationsentwicklung mit.

Team_Michael_Doerk
Michael Doerk
Psychologie

Prof. Dr. Michael Doerk ist Professor an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern und Psychologe, Experte für Gesundheitsförderung, Social Computing, Risiko- und Qualitätsmanagement sowie Innovationsmanagement. Er entwickelte die preisgekrönte HSLU Geschäftsanwendung ‘relax-concentratecreate, die Aktivitäten im Zusammenhang mit Sprachassistenten und Ressourcenmanagement erfasst, die für den analytischen Teil dieser Studie von zentraler Bedeutung sind. 

Team_Michelle_Murri_2
Michelle Murri
Rechtswissenschaften

Michelle Murri ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der HSLU – Hochschule Luzern. Sie schloss kürzlich Ihren Master in Rechtswissenschaften ab und interessiert sich für datenschutzrechtliche Fragen. Im VA-PEPR Forschungsprojekt unterstützt Sie das Projektmanagement.

Team_Michelle_Thorne_2
Michelle Thorne
Open Data

Michelle Thorne ist eine Programmverantwortliche bei der Mozilla Stiftung. Sie leitet ein PhD-Programm über Open Design of Trust Things (OpenDoTT) mit der Northumbria University und mehrere Kunst- und Forschungsinitiativen als Environmental Champion in Mozillas Nachhaltigkeitsprogramm. Sie ist die Gründerin des Ding Magzins, Mozillas Open Internet of Things Studio, dem Mozilla Festival und der Maker Party einem Web Literacy Programm.

Team_Mikey
Mike Shorter
Creative Technologist

Dr. Mike Shorter ist ein wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Northumbria University. In seiner Zeit hat er als Forscher, kreativer Technologe, Produktdesigner, Kunsthandwerker und Innovationsstratege gearbeitet. In all diesen Rollen erforscht Mike konsequent neue Technologien mit reflektierenden und spielerischen Prozessen, um sinnvolle Objekte und Erfahrungen zu schaffen.

Team_Patricia_Wolf_2
Patricia Wolf
Innovationsmanagement

Prof. Dr. Patricia Wolf studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre sowie Soziologie, Philosophie und Neuere Deutsche Literatur. Sie ist seit 2005 Professorin für Innovationsmanagement und Zukunftsforschung an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern. Seit 2012 lehrt Sie an der ETH Zürich und seit 2018 ist Sie Professorin für integratives Innovationsmanagement an der University of Southern Denmark. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt fokussiert die Schnittstelle zwischen Innovation, gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen und neuen Technologien.

Team_Sabine_Junginger_2
Sabine Junginger
Design Research

Prof. Dr. Sabine Junginger ist Professorin an der HSLU-Hochschule LuzernDesign & Kunst und leitet dort das Competence Centre Design and Management. Sie geniesst internationale Anerkennung als Expertin in Human-Centered Design und dessen Beitrag zu gesellschaftlichem Wandel und wirtschaftlicher Innovation im Kontext der digitalen Transformation. Ihre Zusammenarbeit mit Innovationseinheiten in Regierung und Verwaltung bringt Sie in Verbindung mit Policy Design un der Gestaltung von öffentlichen Dienstleistungen.

Team_Tom_Ulmer
Tom Ulmer
Data Analysis and IT Architecture

Tom Ulmer ist Dozent an der OST- Ostschweizer Fachhochschule mit Expertise in Informatik, Human-Computer Interaktion und Mediendesign. Sein Forschungsinteresse liegt in den Bereichen Digital Health, Active Assisted Living und Smart Home.

Team_Ulrich_Reimer
Ulrich Reimer
Informatik

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Reimer ist Professor an der OST- Ostschweizer Fachhochschule und Informatiker mit Expertise in AI, semantischen Technologien und Wissensmanagement. Ein wichtiger Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf Systemen zur Unterstützung von Verhaltenänderungen im Gesundheitsbereich. Dabei interessieren Ihn insbesondere die Analyse von Sensordaten und die Entwicklung von Algorithmen zur automatischen Anpassung solcher Systeme auf den individuellen Benutzer.

Team_Ute_Klotz
Ute Klotz
Informatik

Prof. Ute Klotz ist Co-Leiterin der Fokusgruppe “Technologien für die digitalisierte Arbeitsumgebung der Zukunft” im interdisziplinären Themencluster “Digitale Transformation der Arbeitswelt” an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern. Sie beschäftigt sich mit Zukunftsstudien und den Schnittstellen zwischen Mensch, Arbeit und Technik. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt Methoden, die die Zukunft greifbarer und damit vorhersehbarer machen.

Team_Uwe
Uwe Riss
Informationssysteme

Dr. Uwe Riss ist Dozent an der OST – Ostschweizer Fachhochschule und hat Forschung in Gebieten wie Wirtschaftsinformatik, Naturwissenschaften und Philosophie betrieben. An der OST beschäftigt er sich hauptsächlich mit verschiedenen Aspekten der Digitalisierung.

Team_Viviven_Luong_2
Vivien Luong
Forschungskoordination

Vivien Luong ist Forschungskoordinatorin an der HSLU-Hochschule Luzern Design & Kunst. In diesem Projekt ist Sie hauptsächlich verantwortlich für die Koordination der Berichterstattung an den SNF und verantwortlich für das Controlling und die finanzielle Berichterstattung.