How do we live in the (omni-) presence of voice assistants?

The VA-PEPR research project looks into how voice assistants change our practices and routines in the home.

VA-PEPR is an interdisciplinary four-year project (01/2020 – 12/2023) funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) – Sinergia Program with a grant of 2.23 million CHF. Co-ordinated by Dr. Sabine Junginger (HSLU D&K) and co-led by Dr. Ulrich Reimer (OST), Dr. Jens O. Meissner (HSLU W) and Dr. Jon Rogers (Northumbria University), the project team includes researchers with expertise in human-centred design, human-computer interaction, home automation, digital services, ambient assisted living, computer science, behavioural economics, socio-informatics, Open IoT, law, ethnography and health. Its aims are to generate novel insights into the emerging issues associated with voice assistant (VA) use in Switzerland and beyond.

VA-PEPR stands for Voice Assistants – People, Experiences, Practices, Routines. We conduct research into how people experience voice assistants in their homes and private lives and how they develop new practices and routines around their use of VAs. By focusing on the home environment, user experience and ethical issues, the project aims to contribute to a deeper understanding of this new technology. Previous studies on VAs in Switzerland have focused either on the technological aspects or on business and marketing relevant questions. Knowledge about the use of language assistants in the home environment and from the perspective of their users is still lacking. The findings will contribute to fill this gap by shedding light on the user experience. These findings will be translated into guidance for users, developers, designers and service providers in business and industry. In collaboration with the Mozilla Foundation, the research team will continuously share and discuss its findings with an international community of experts, especially in regards to the ethical dimensions involved in studying voice assistants and using them in the home.

Project Phases

The phases of the study could be explained in four parts, each with a different thematic focus:

1 Ethnographic Studies

A series of ethnographic studies of people using VAs in their homes be conducted in the beginning of 2021. The aim is to find at least 20 households (families or shared households) who are already using VAs or who are interested in using VAs for this study. Participants will document and share how they interact with these devices and how the devices affect their home lives. The in-home study includes an optional data traffic analysis.

2 Relax-Concentrate-Create Student Household Studies

Students in a course on resource management are exploring and documenting ways of using VAs to be more efficient in the creativity cycle of relaxing, concentrating and creating. Not only are they finding new ways of using VAs creatively, but  they also explore motivations and reasons on why VAs are used or not used in practice. Ethical and usability issues might be just as relevant as productivity gains or new modes of engaging creatively with intelligent devices. https://rcc.hslu.ch/

3 Speculative Design Workshops

In-home study participants and other interested people are invited to build on their observations, experiences and insights to create new possibilities for VAs in the home during a number of speculative design workshops planned for 2022. The aim is to formulate expectations of how VAs ought to be designed in order for them to be useful for people in everyday life at home and what VAs should not be allowed to do under any circumstances.

4 Development of Guidelines

The results will be translated into guidelines and recommendations for the development, design and use of language assistants in 2023. Last but not least, they are intended to provide guidance on issues of legal regulation, especially with regard to the protection of users’ privacy.

Wie leben wir in der Gegenwart von Sprachassistenten?

Das Forschungsprojekt VA-PEPR untersucht, wie Sprachassistenten unsere Praktiken und Routinen zu Hause verändern.

VA-PEPR ist ein interdisziplinäres Vierjahresprojekt (01/2020 bis 12/2023), das vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) – Sinergia Programm mit einer Summe von 2.23 Millionen CHF unterstützt wird. Unter der Leitung von Dr. Sabine Junginger (HSLU D&K) und Co-Leitung von Dr. Ulrich Reimer (OST), Dr. Jens O. Meissner (HSLU W) und Dr. Jon Rogers (Northumbria University), schliesst das Projektteam Forschende mit Expertise in Human-Centred Design, Human-Computer Interaktion, Home Automation, Digital Services, Ambient Assisted Living, Informatik, Verhaltensökonomie, Sozioinformatik, Open IoT, Recht, Ethnografie und Gesundheit mit ein. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, neue Erkenntnisse in im Zusammenhang mit dem Einsatz von Sprachassistenten (VA) in der Schweiz und darüber hinaus zu gewinnen. 

VA-PEPR steht für Voice Assistants – People, Experiences, Practices, Routines. Wir untersuchen, wie Menschen Sprachassistenten zu Hause und im Privatleben erleben und wie sie neue Praktiken und Routinen rund um die Nutzung entwickeln. Durch die Konzentration auf die häusliche Umgebung, die Benutzererfahrung und auf ethische Fragen, soll das Projekt zu einem tieferen Verständnis dieser neuen Technologie beitragen. Frühere Studien zu Sprachassistenten in der Schweiz haben sich entweder auf die technologischen Aspekte oder auf geschäfts- und marketingrelevante Fragen konzentriert. Das Wissen über den Einsatz von Sprachassistenten im häuslichen Umfeld und aus der Perspektive ihrer Benutzer fehlt noch immer. Die Ergebnisse werden dazu beitragen, diese Lücke zu schliessen. Diese Ergebnisse werden in Anleitungen für Benutzer, Entwickler, Designer und Dienstleister in Wirtschaft und Industrie umgesetzt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Mozilla Foundation wird das Forschungsteam seine Ergebnisse kontinuierlich mit einer internationalen Expertengemeinschaft austauschen und diskutieren, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die ethischen Dimensionen, die mit der Untersuchung von Sprachassistenten und deren Einsatz zu Hause verbunden sind. 

Projektphasen

Die Studie kann in vier Phasen mit jeweils unterschiedlichen thematischen Schwerpunkten erläutert werden:

1 Ethnographische Studien

Anfang 2021 soll eine Reihe ethnographischer Studien mit Personen durchgeführt werden, die in ihrer Wohnung Sprachassistenten nutzen. Ziel ist es, mindestens 20 Haushalte (Familien oder Gemeinschaftshaushalte) zu finden, die bereits digitale Sprachassistenten verwenden oder an einer Verwendung von solchen für diese Studie interessiert sind. Die Teilnehmer dokumentieren, wie sie mit diesen Geräten interagieren und wie die Geräte ihr Leben zu Hause beeinflussen. Die In-Home-Studie umfasst optional eine Analyse des Datenverkehrs.·

2 Relax-Concentrate-Create Haushaltstudien Studierende

Studenten in einem Kurs über Ressourcenmanagement erforschen und dokumentieren Möglichkeiten, Sprachassistenten einzusetzen, um den Kreativitätszyklus von Entspannung, Konzentration und Kreation effizienter zu gestalten. Sie finden nicht nur neue Wege, Sprachassistenten kreativ zu nutzen, sondern erforschen auch Motivationen und Gründe, warum diese in der Praxis genutzt oder nicht genutzt werden. Ethische und Usability-Fragen können dabei ebenso relevant sein wie Produktivitätsgewinne oder neue Formen der kreativen Auseinandersetzung mit intelligenten Geräten. https://rcc.hslu.ch/

3 Spekulative Design Workshops

Die Teilnehmer an dieser sogenannten In-Home-Studie und andere Interessierte sind eingeladen, auf ihren Beobachtungen, Erfahrungen und Einsichten aufzubauen, um während einer Reihe von spekulativen Designworkshops, die für 2022 geplant sind, neue Möglichkeiten für Sprachassistenten im häuslichen Bereich zu schaffen. Ziel ist es, Erwartungen zu formulieren, wie die Sprachassistenten gestaltet werden sollten, damit sie für Menschen im häuslichen Alltag nützlich sind, und was Sprachassistenten unter keinen Umständen tun dürfen.

4 Entwicklung von Richtlinien

Die Ergebnisse werden im Jahr 2023 in Richtlinien und Empfehlungen für die Entwicklung, Gestaltung und Nutzung von Sprachassistenten umgesetzt. Nicht zuletzt sollen sie eine Hilfestellung zu Fragen der rechtlichen Regulierung geben, insbesondere im Hinblick auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre der Nutzer.